Installing SeismicUnix on Mac OS X Mavericks

This is my short summary on how to install SeismicUnix from CWP. Apparently I just lost my mind on buying this expensive MacbookPro Retina. But overall, I’m impressed on this machine, and I think I starting to like it. Though I can see, I need to spend more money to buy some peripherals🙂

Ok, so basically I just followed the tutorial here, Seismic Unix for Mac OS X, in summary what you need to do after unpacking the package,

1. Install Xcode, this will give all the required compiler etc.

2. You may also edit the .bash_profile, if you are using bash, under your home directory, set the CWPROOT, and don’t forget to export it

export CWPROOT=/usr/local/SU
export PATH=/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:$CWPROOT/bin:$PATH

3. Edit Makefile.config, just follow the Makefile.config written in the tutorial, and I’m using the Makefile.config or OS X Lion,

4. No X11 on Mavericks, so I use XQuartz, just download the .dmg, extract, run the package installer

5. Run make install, make xtinstall, and other required make. Sometime you will get warning in the compilation message, but who cares🙂

6. Test, suplane | suximage

that’s it, easy rite🙂

Installing SeismicUnix on Mac OS X Mavericks

One thought on “Installing SeismicUnix on Mac OS X Mavericks

  1. T says:

    I’ve been literary struggling for days to install SeismicUnix on my mac, but I just can’t make it work. I think I got as far as make xminstall, but now I get error and the test never worked. I’m really tired of this. I’ve followed all instructions line by line, installed package upon package but still no success.

Leave a Reply

